Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Site Search
St. Francis de Sales Award


For Outstanding Contribution to Catholic Journalism

The St. Francis de Sales Award is the highest award the Catholic Press Association presents to an individual for his/her "outstanding contributions to Catholic journalism.” Members of the Catholic Press Association are encouraged to nominate someone who, in the preceding year or throughout their career, has performed with excellence and contributed to raising the professional standards of Catholic journalism.



Most Recent Winners

The past five winners of the St. Francis de Sales Award serve on the St. Francis de Sales Committee to help select the 2021 recipient.

2020: John Feister for his commitment to effectively reach and faith-fully impact Catholics throughout the world

2019: Mark Lombard for his high ethical standards, his respect for coworkers, his patience, his sense of order, his skillful communication—and his solid skill both as journalist and businessman

2018: Julie Asher for the professionalism she brings to her job and the ways she has raised the profile of the Catholic media nationwide

2017: Matthew Schiller for his vision, his willingness to share his expertise with others and for sharing in the mission of Catholic journalism.

2016: Maria de Lourdes Ruiz Scaperlanda for her dedication to Catholic media for more than 30 years, and for telling the human side of many of the tough social and political issues facing our state, Church and nation.

View a complete list of those honored with a St. Francis de Sales Award.


Criteria for Nomination

The St. Francis de Sales Award of the Catholic Press Association shall be given to the person who, in the preceding year or during the years of his/her journalism career, while on the staff of or as a contributor to a publication which is a member of the Catholic Press Association, has performed the work of Catholic journalism either in general (for example, managing or editing a periodical) or in particular (for example, reporting) with such overall excellence or such originality or initiative, judged by that work's proper technical, intellectual, and practical-moral standards, as by his/her example to have contributed to raising the measure of performance of Catholic journalists, or to the development of new and more effective practices.

Make a Nomination

The nominating period for the 2020 St. Francis de Sales Award has ended.

Procedure for Selection

Any member of the Catholic Press Association may nominate one person each year for the St. Francis de Sales Award. 

Once the nominating period is closed, a committee consisting of the previous five winners of the St. Francis de Sales Award will select up to five candidates to bring forward to the membership for voting.

In the final phase, CPA members vote on the Final Candidates. Members choose their first place and second place candidates. These scores are unweighted. The candidate with the most first place votes is the winner. In the event of a tie, second place votes are used to determine the winner.

more Latest News
There are currently no news items posted.
more Calendar

Webinar: Digital Transformation - Benefits of Change

Online Surveys
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal