Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In
Site Search
CPA Past Presidents

Below is the list of CPA presidents dating back to the foundation of the Catholic Press Association in 1911. For a listing of our current board of directors and committees, click here.

Catholic Press Association Past Presidents:

1911-1913 Edward J. Cooney, Providence Visitor
1913-1917 John Paul Chew, Church Progress
1917-1920 Dr. Thomas P. Hart, Catholic Telegraph
1920-1922 Claude M. Becker, The Tablet
1922-1924 Fred W. Harvey, Jr. Extension
1928-1930 Anthony J. Beck, Michigan Catholic
1930-1932 Benedict J. Elder, The Record
1932-1934 Richard Reid, Catholic News
1934-1936 Joseph J. Quinn, Southwest Courier
1936-1938 Vincent dePaul Fitzpatrick, Catholic Review
1938-1940 Charles H. Ridder, Catholic News
1940-1941 Msgr. Peter M.H. Wynhoven, Catholic Action of the South
1941-1944 Alexander J. Wey, Catholic Universe Bulletin
1943-1946 Rev. Patrick O'Connor, S.S.C., The Far East
1946-1948 Humphrey E. Desmond, Catholic Herald Citizen
1948-1950 Rev. Paul Bussard, Catholic Digest
1950-1952 Francis A. Fink, Our Sunday Visitor
1952-1954 Msgr. Thomas A. Meehan, The New World
1954-1956 Charles J. McNeill, Young Catholic Messenger
1956-1958 Msgr. John S. Randall, Catholic Courier Journal
1958-1960 John J. Daly, Catholic Virginian
1960-1963 Rev. Albert J. Nevins, M.M. Maryknoll
1963-1965 Msgr. Robert G. Peters, Peoria Register
1965-1967 William Holub, America
1967-1969 Msgr. Terrence P. McMahon, Catholic Transcript
1969-1971 Joseph A. Gelin, Catholic Universe Bulletin
1971-1973 Rev. Louis G. Miller, C.SS.R, Liguorian
1973-1975 John F. Fink, Our Sunday Visitor
1975-1977 Rev. Jeremy Harrington, St. Anthony Messenger
1977-1979 Robert L. Fenton, Catholic Digest
1979-1981 Ethel M. Gintoft, Catholic Herald Citizen
1981-1984 Rev. Norman J. Muckerman, C.SS.R, Liguorian
1984-1986 Rev. Owen F. Campion. Tennessee Register
1986-1988 Albina Aspell, The Catholic Post
1988-1990 Rev. John T. Catoir, The Christophers
1990-1992 Barbara Beckwith, St. Anthony Messenger
1992-1994 Arthur McKenna, Catholic New York
1994-1996 Antony J. Spence, Tennessee Register
1996-1998 Christopher J. Gunty, The Catholic Sun
1998-2000 Joseph Kirk Ryan, The Catholic Standard and Times
2000-2002 Karen Franz, The Catholic Courier
2002-2004 Dennis Heaney, The Christophers
2004-2007 Helen Osman, The Catholic Spirit, TX
2007-2009 Robert Zyskowski, The Catholic Spirit, MN
-2011 Penny Wiegert, The Observer
2011-2013 Greg Erlandson, Our Sunday Visitor
2013-2015 Rob DeFrancesco, The Catholic Sun, AZ
2015-2017 Matthew Schiller, Catholic New York
2017-2019 Joe Towalski, The Central Minnesota Catholic

more Latest News
There are currently no news items posted.
more Calendar

The upcoming calendar is currently empty.

Click here to view past events and photos »

Online Surveys
Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal