Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Apply
Site Search
Catholic Press Awards
Share |


Welcome to the 2018 Catholic Press Awards


Important Changes for 2018: Search by category name not number

*Entry Divisions Reorganized and Expanded to Seven

The All Member entries are now in the Digital and Business divisions. All General and Individual Excellence categories are in the Excellence division. The new Communication division is for non-news content.


 The Seven Divisions are:


  Business (All Member)

    o   Advertising & Annual Report entries for all publisher members


 Digital (All Member)

     o   Website, blogs, Social Media entries for all publisher members


 Communication Departments 

     o   Communicator and promotion work that is not press/news related


 General & Individual Excellence

    o   Top awards pulled from Newspaper, Magazine, Spanish Language & Communication divisions


 Magazine & Newsletter

     o   Same as previous years without digital and excellence categories



      o   Same as previous years without digital and excellence categories


 Spanish Language

     o   Same as previous years without digital and excellence categories


New categories are listed at the top of the Quick Look chart and marked NEW



The purpose of the award program is to recognize the contributions and hard work of association members throughout 2017. Winners are announced during the annual Catholic Media Conference each June.


A list of winning entries with judge comments is available in the June issue of The Catholic Journalist and on the CPA website after the conference. All winners receive an Award Certificate.


Each Publication member and Freelance member may submit one FREE entry.


The Awards Program is in a two-year transition period with the goal of making it easier for participants to find submissions by topical category rather than by category number. The first stage in accomplishing this is to create new divisions and reorganize the Quick Look Chart by topic. Continue to use the category number to find descriptions and submit in the award software.



Catholic Press Award winners are announced at the annual Catholic Media Conference in June. Winners may pick up their award certificates at the conference. If a winner is unable to attend, the CPA office mails the certificates after the the conference ends. Winners are also published in the June issue of the Catholic Journalist and in the winners gallery on our awards website.


Publisher Members (including Publication and General Publisher Members) and Freelance Members of the Catholic Press Association may enter the Catholic Press Awards. All entrants must be in good standing by March 31.

To check your membership status, please call the CPA office at 312-380-6789.


So that every member can participate, each Publisher and Freelance Member receives one free entry to the Catholic Press Awards. All subsequent submissions are $36 each.

Please note that Staff Members are not Publisher Members, and therefore are not entitled to a free entry.

Award Packets- Award packets detail eligibility requirements, submission instructions, and  category descriptions for each division of the Catholic Press Awards.

Awards Packets- Click on the icon to download individual packets. 

Rates and Entry Fees: Ready to Enter?

Open Period Dates  Extension Period  Dates Closing Date 
January 2 – February 4, 2018
 February 5 – February 11, 2018  February 11, 2018
 $36 per entry   $45 per entry    at 11:59 pm


Ready to Enter?

Click here to submit to the CPA Press Awards.

Need Assistance?

Contact Kathleen at or call the office at (312) 380-6789.

more Latest News
There are currently no news items posted.
more Calendar

Webinar: Preparing for the Synod on Youth

Webinar: Communications Priorities of the U.S. Bishops

Webinar: Managing Communications during Bishop Transitions

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal