Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Apply
Site Search
St. Francis de Sales Award: Past Winners
Share |

2015: Greg Erlandson for his long-term contributions to multiple Catholic publications, his work with the Vatican and his leadership and contributions to the CPA.

2014: Jim Lackey for the first-rate quality of his reporting and editing, the wide reach of his work, and his tireless dedication to make the Catholic press great.

2013: Peter Finney for his unequaled skills and outstanding leadership, all this is done with class, steady encouragement and enduring grace.

2012: Helen Osman for the affirming, collaborative way she works. She is a role model for women leaders in the Catholic media and elsewhere for her ability to win the ear of decision makers through her character, her intelligence, vision and her grace under pressure.

2011: Robert Zyskowski for his leadership, commitment to excellence and his ability to understand the big picture. He studies the demographic and readership trends that are changing the way the Catholic press must do business if it is to fulfill its mission in the future.

2010: Anthony Spence for his contribution to the Catholic press, his leadership in the CPA and for seeing the importance of multimedia journalism as part of the mission of the church in the world.

2009: Karen M. Franz for her leadership in the CPA and for serving as a role model to editors and to all women determined to pursue their vocation as Catholic journalists.

2008: Chic Davis for his knowledge and expertise in business and advertising, and for his perseverance to deliver value to the dioceses and its readers through Catholic publications.

2007: John Thavis for his in-depth knowledge of the workings of the Vatican and his ability to share that with fellow journalists and Catholic press readers.

2006: Owen P. McGovern (special) for being a champion of the Catholic press during his service to the CPA as executive director, 1988-2005.

2006: Father Jack Wintz, OFM for his dedication to justice through the power of Catholic journalism and for radiating the truthful, gentle spirit of St. Francis de Sales.

2005: Oscar Reyes for his great faith, his remarkable strength of character and for his editorial excellence and innovation.

2004: Gerald Costello for his outstanding and long-continuing performance in Catholic journalism with precisely the excellence, originality and initiative the award standards demand.

2003: Jerry Filteau for a career of uncompromising journalism in the service of the Catholic press.

2002: Dennis Heaney for his willingness to defend journalistic integrity; his deep and active spiritual life and his caring for people.

2001: Anne Buckley for her enthusiasm for the job, personal sacrifice and dedication.

2001: Cardinal Avery Dulles (special) for his contributions to the Catholic press.

2000: Christopher Gunty for his zest for his mission as a Catholic journalist. Chris embodies all that is redeeming about Catholic journalism.

1999: Robert G. Hoyt for his lifetime of service to the Catholic press, journalistic integrity and his lifelong promotion of truth and human dignity.

1998: Arthur L. McKenna for his love of the Catholic press, his many selfless contributions and dedication over many years as CPA president, vice president, treasurer, board member and "mentor to all.”

1997: Rev. Norman Perry, O.F.M. for being a powerful voice for thoughtfulness, fairness and reason in his work as editor of St. Anthony Messenger, and for his dedication to the Catholic press.

1996: Rev. Mark J. Brummel, C.M.F. for his years of editorial direction, professional publishing leadership and his gentle guidance of the many Catholic publications he has made possible.

1995: Thomas N. Lorsung for a commitment to excellence, a belief in the power of the written word, an ability to take leadership roles in guiding the press to growth and development.

1994: Barbara Beckwith for her dedication and effort in being a resourceful ambassador for the Catholic press in communications circles in the United States and worldwide through UCIP.

1993: Rev. John Catoir for his long-time, outstanding contributions to the Catholic Church through books, syndicated column, articles and the Christopher News Notes.

1992: Albina Aspell for her distinctive and eloquent leadership in the Catholic press and for her role as a dynamic force and inspiration.

1991: Henry Gosselin for his outstanding example as a dedicated and innovative Catholic editor of an award-winning newspaper.

1990: Penny Lernoux (posthumously) for being an exemplary journalist who continually pushed herself and others to live according to the challenges of the Gospel.

1989: Rev. Owen F. Campion for excellence in his long career in religious journalism and in service to the CPA. Gracious, diplomatic, untiring devotion; a fine Southern gentleman.

1988: James A. Doyle (special) for dedicated service to CPA as executive director, 1958-1988, counseling the Catholic press family with patience, wit, and integrity for 30 years.

1988: Deacon Henry Libersat for management of five editions of The Florida Catholic, service to the CPA and its members and courageous and community-centered journalism.

more Calendar

Office Closed

Registration opens for CMC16

3/18/2016 » 4/6/2016
Trip to the Holy Land

3/24/2016 » 3/25/2016
Office Closed

Office Closed

Online Surveys
Association Management Software Powered by®  ::  Legal